Tandberg brand

radio, tape, stands and accessories
bauzace50
vinyl addict
vinyl addict

Tandberg brand

Post by bauzace50 » 08 Mar 2009 01:49

HI,
Does anyone remember the Tandberg brand of audio products, including some excellent tape equipment? What was their country of origin? Are they still in the market?
Thankyou,
bauzace50

MonkeyBoy
long player
long player

Post by MonkeyBoy » 08 Mar 2009 03:21

As far as I can tell, the company was from the U.S. I don't know when they went out of business. I've never heard any of their equipment, but I always had the impression that it was entry level good stuff, but nothing more. That's just an impression form the days when I really knew no more aabout good sound than I did about anything, which was ZIP!

pivot
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
United States of America

Post by pivot » 08 Mar 2009 03:29

The shop I was a salesman at here in Albany back in the late '70s, Clark Music , sold Tandberg. The receivers were a cut above most of the competition. Nice stuff to listen to, but challenging to sell because of the high price and somewhat subdued looks. They were not flashy, "Buck Rogers" stuff. Solidly made and very good sound.

They made cassette decks that were built like tanks and a good reel to reel machine.

I believe the Tandberg currently known for videoconferencing is the same
company.

Tandberg no longer makes any HiFi gear.

They were (are?) based in Oslo, Norway.

lini
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
Germany

Post by lini » 08 Mar 2009 04:14