MK2 or MK5?

turning japanese
Ho72

MK2 or MK5?

Post by Ho72 » 10 Nov 2007 12:19

After much deliberation, I am poised to buy a SL-12xx model from KAB. There is some confusion on my part about the difference between the MK2 and the MK5, however. From looking at the KAB site, it seems that the MK5 (SL-1210M5GSE) has an LED instead of a reagular bulb for illumination and, perhaps more importantly, OFC wiring for the tonearm: "M5G's and GLD's feature improved tonearm wand and interconnect wiring."

The latter seems like it may be reason enough to go for the MK5. Are there any downsides to this model?

Thanks.

Ho72

Post by Ho72 » 12 Nov 2007 23:03

So did I ask a stupid question or does no one have an opinion?

JaS
engine room
engine room

Post by JaS » 12 Nov 2007 23:43

Hi,
I'm no expert but I seem to remember reading somewhere that the mk5 comes as standard with a slipmat instead of a heavy rubber mat, which isn't ideal if absolute sound quality rather than mixing is your goal? It would be worth checking on the price of a genuine rubber mat if this is the case, otherwise the mk5 sounds on paper like the better deck.

Regards,
JaS

Ho72

Post by Ho72 » 13 Nov 2007 09:37

Thanks for the replies.

My intention originally was to grab the base MK2 and upgrade to the Cadras rewire and arm damper mods. I can get the M5G with the damper and stock OFC wire for less money, so it seemed on the surface like a better deal.

I will call Kevin.

Ho72

Cart for 1200?

Post by Ho72 » 18 Nov 2007 19:40

Kevin responded to my email quickly and we are now working out the details of my table. I am curious what the prevailing favorite budget cartridge is for the 1200. Most of my money is going to buy the table and I will have $150 or less to spend on a cart when all is said and done.