Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

turning japanese
Post Reply
elinat
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Aug 2017 06:10

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by elinat » 20 Apr 2019 05:27

I'm very happy to report that I now have a fully functional automatic SL-1300Mk2. I went back at the tonearm return adjustment screw like you guys suggested. I guess I misunderstood the directions the last time. I kept turning the screw clockwise since the arm fails to return after the last groove. It returns only if I pick it up and move it towards the middle. This time I made adjustments turning the screw counterclockwise and I finally got it to work right! Thanks guys for all the help

cmarti
member
member
Posts: 127
Joined: 18 Apr 2015 23:09

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by cmarti » 23 Apr 2019 02:43

elinat wrote:
20 Apr 2019 05:27
Thanks guys for all the help
We're here to serve :)

jdhorn1
member
member
Posts: 57
Joined: 19 Aug 2004 03:15
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by jdhorn1 » 16 May 2019 04:06

After the success I had with the 1300 MKII I stupidly sold it. But I managed to land a 1310 MKII. Things didn't fair as well. After a fellow AKer said his 1310 had the bronze bushing, I ordered that. But when I got it apart, mine had the steel bushing. Instead of returning it I tried to make it work. No Dice. Epic fail. The gear broke. And in the frustration I managed to break a wire. So I unsoldered the rest of the wires from the board. Took it totally apart. Got to order the one for the steel gear, got to re-wire the broken wire, may do all four wires with the KAB kit. I'll report back

ZoKtorR
member
member
Belgium
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Feb 2017 10:47
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by ZoKtorR » 12 Jul 2019 11:04

I just bought a really good looking SL-1300 mk2 for € 80, and it has the same cracked part. Tried to plastic weld it but it broke again while closing up. Ordered the 3D printed part.

Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the effort of scanning and editing the part. But I have a 3D printer at home, and with the .stl or CAD file I could just print it at home for free. If it breaks, just print it again.

SDG0407, can you consider putting the .stl on Thingiverse for people to download and print for themselves?

After all, thousands of enthusiasts put their tutorials on YT for everyone to watch for free. Just a thought...

jdhorn1
member
member
Posts: 57
Joined: 19 Aug 2004 03:15
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by jdhorn1 » 14 Jul 2019 19:03

ZoKtorR wrote:
12 Jul 2019 11:04
I just bought a really good looking SL-1300 mk2 for € 80, and it has the same cracked part. Tried to plastic weld it but it broke again while closing up. Ordered the 3D printed part.

Don't get me wrong, I appreciate the effort of scanning and editing the part. But I have a 3D printer at home, and with the .stl or CAD file I could just print it at home for free. If it breaks, just print it again.

SDG0407, can you consider putting the .stl on Thingiverse for people to download and print for themselves?

After all, thousands of enthusiasts put their tutorials on YT for everyone to watch for free. Just a thought...
Just gluing the broken gear will not work. Some have drilled holes thru the thicker sections of the original gear and run a wire through it, then epoxy or JB weld. Seemed to have had some success with that. The Shapeways part I just installed in my SL-1310 MK2 has been hit and miss. I sanded spots smoother and seemed to help. Still if after I get it all working right and then change any of the settings, arm VTA, cue lever height, it still wants to stick with the arm not lowering. I have to manually run it thru several auto cycles to get it to work as it should. Then it seems to run in auto fine.

ZoKtorR
member
member
Belgium
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Feb 2017 10:47
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by ZoKtorR » 06 Aug 2019 13:13

I installed the part on my 1300, and the strange thing is that pushing the Start button works like it should the first time, but after that first time, pushing Start only makes the turntable turn for a few seconds, then it stops (no arm lift, but I can hear some movement under the tonearm base).

I can cycle the automatic start & setdown by turning the plastic cam wheel by hand, no problem. Manual cueing works too, with a bit more force than expected. So the plastic part isn't broken. Maybe the part needs to be sanded some more? Where does it need sanding exactly?

Also, the Stop button doesn't do anything, and automatic return doesn't work.

And the main board seems to get hot during playing. :?

Any ideas? :| Thank you!

jamkrouse
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Jun 2017 13:47

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by jamkrouse » 07 Aug 2019 12:52

I have (2) issues with my 1300MK2. First is the piece I can purchase from shapeway but the second is the plastic piece that follows the cam opening in the cueing mechanism has the following stud sheered off. Is there a fix or a 3D printed replacement for this as well? Thanks!

ZoKtorR
member
member
Belgium
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Feb 2017 10:47
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by ZoKtorR » 08 Aug 2019 10:32

I'm quite sure that there is no 3D printed replacement part for that, unfortunately. Keep an eye on https://organdonorparts.com or Fleabay.

jjtheski
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Mar 2017 20:23

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by jjtheski » 06 Sep 2019 19:02

I have read through this whole topic, and I have successfully used the shapeways 3D printed piece to repair the lift function on my SL-1300 mk2. Thank you all so, so much for all the info.

Unfortunately, I've run into a bit of an issue. My auto-return is not working, and Im hoping someone can give me some pointers to look for before I take the whole thing apart again... please note the following

1 - the auto-start DOES work. (if I simply press the start button, it lifts the arm up, and moves it to the start of the record and plays)
2 - I've verified that the auto-return button is pressed down (behind the tonearm)
3 - I've adjusted the little return setting dial that is down under the pivot point
4 - when i reassembled, I made sure that the two parts of the light sensor were parallel, and the arm does travel through it, perhaps there is a special distance that the light portion needs to be away from the sensor?

I'm wondering if I misaligned some shaft, or there's a sneaky spring or screw. I thought I took great care to reassemble it all, so I strongly doubt anything obvious will stick out to me when I take it apart again.

Anyway thanks for all the previous info, and the part. And thank you for any ideas you can give me on my issue.

bokko
junior member
junior member
Canada
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Jul 2018 04:01
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by bokko » 06 Sep 2019 19:12

Try turning turntable plater counter clockwise, or in opposite direction like 10-12 revolutions. You might hear a small click. Then try again

ZoKtorR
member
member
Belgium
Posts: 27
Joined: 11 Feb 2017 10:47
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by ZoKtorR » 09 Sep 2019 10:03

I have read that the actual distance from the phototransistor to the metal plate with the small cut-out slits is critical. If not, it will not work. Unfortunately, I don't know what that distance should be since mine isn't working either. Maybe anyone here with a working auto-return can measure the distance on his/her machine carefully and tell us?

jjtheski
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Mar 2017 20:23

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by jjtheski » 10 Sep 2019 21:10

the suggestion from bokko to spin the platter backwards seems to have had no effect, I didnt hear a click. thank you for the suggestion though

Im very interested in zoktorr's idea of getting a measurement on the sensor gap

bokko
junior member
junior member
Canada
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Jul 2018 04:01
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by bokko » 10 Sep 2019 21:34

Mine has been sold since, I remember one online tutorial showed that plate installed incorrectly. I corrected that ensured the 3d printed part was pressed completely onto bushing one little click, double checked alignment. Testing movement of parts as I put it back together and was successful. Then Had to adjust arm lift to deal with auto mute. Not very specific I know...at stage in photo I moved everything and ensured everything was moving freely.
Attachments
30693F02-67D0-43C3-9DA5-293C241B3935.jpeg
(363.86 KiB) Downloaded 56 times

lexxz
Hungary
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Oct 2019 17:35

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by lexxz » 23 Nov 2019 09:34

Hello! I ordered a cue from shapeway, The problem screw was unscrewed heavily. The blue wire broke. You can simply connect the wire to solder, or you need to change the entire wire in the tonearm. I just do it the first time and ask for advice. The second problem: the stroboscope is not visible in the mirror window. LEDs light up, but there is no reflection in the mirror. Technics SL-1410mk2.

bokko
junior member
junior member
Canada
Posts: 12
Joined: 02 Jul 2018 04:01
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by bokko » 23 Nov 2019 17:27

Make sure shiny part isn’t missing. If it is sure you can find a shiny surface and cut to size.

Just solder it back on, my black wire broke.
3 second rule with solder

Post Reply