Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

turning japanese
Post Reply
Japi Roelofs
long player
long player
Netherlands
Posts: 4522
Joined: 05 Apr 2008 16:53
Location: Netherlands

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by Japi Roelofs » 07 May 2015 22:42

Starquest wrote:AFAIK, no other Technics has the ability to disable auto stuff.
The SL-1700MK2 also has that feature.

dutchflea
senior member
senior member
Posts: 420
Joined: 12 Dec 2011 14:02

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by dutchflea » 07 May 2015 23:21

Good question, it could be that there was no space for the "old" automatic method (found on the 1300 and 1600 mk1). Probably because they decided for the first time to have an optical sensor for the auto return in stead of the mechanical type. (thus finally being able to claim the auto-return could NOT interfere with the arm movement). So in that way it probably is related to the auto return.

With the next model, the 1600mk2, they also included optical sensors, but they learned from their mistake, so this time they dropped the dreaded lift part in favour of a gear/cam design operated by a separate motor. This proved to be a better, though even more complicated design - just take a look at what's under the arm base of a SL-1600mk2, overwhelming!. Sadly, those gears were made from plastic, and they too do crack over time. Also there are motors that fail. So the 1600mk2 has its own complexity and possibility of failure. I know, cause I got 2 of them. ;)

The other, simpler models like the SL-D3 and SL-Q3 and many variants that came after it dit not have the optical sensors but used the proven mechanical shut-off mechanism. Don't get me wrong, I love my 1300+1600mk2's, but ometimes simplicity actually is better! ;)

swiss_steve
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2015 17:35

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by swiss_steve » 07 Jul 2015 14:14

Hi Folks,
I also need to replace this part on my SL-1400Mk2, and would appreciate some help before I get myself into a mess doing the job.... :oops:
With the Technics Service Manual and good step-by-step photos of the Deck disassembly shown here:-
http://web.archive.org/web/200905140921 ... k2-service
I reckon I can get to the sub-chassis point (Step 5 in the link above). However, I can't find any other guide to help me with the Tonearm sub-assembly breakdown to get to the Shapeways replacement part. Has anyone got any information to help me, please?
If one does not already exist, I shall make a pictorial guide to the replacement of this part on my Deck to post on here for others in future.
Thanks!

Starquest
member
member
Posts: 186
Joined: 18 Apr 2014 19:08

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by Starquest » 07 Jul 2015 14:39

We should have an international fix-it party. All of us with this turntable with this problem could congregate and fix them together.

Roberto C2H3
long player
long player
Argentina
Posts: 1601
Joined: 12 Jun 2014 12:54
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by Roberto C2H3 » 07 Jul 2015 17:38

Word of warning! Our beloved Technics was not consistent in its bushing use in the SL 1400 MK2 - some used knurled bushing, some with the ridge. I do not know if this inconsistency carried onto the 1300 & 1500 as well, but chances are quite good that it did.

So... You will have to be extra patient and order the piece from Shapeways AFTER you disassemble the majority of the tone arm base. There are two available, and one is one millimeter wider (the one with the knurled bushing) than the other.

This actually happened to me...

Starquest, an international fix it party of these models sounds fantastic. IMO, this is the best series ever put out by Technics (if one forgets about this pesky cueing mechanism detail :lol: :lol: :lol: )

Best from the Pampas,
roberto

swiss_steve
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2015 17:35

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by swiss_steve » 08 Jul 2015 12:28

Hi Roberto,
Thanks for the tip-off. My initial investigations has taught me that I could end up with either a white or black part, similar odds with a knurled/cerrated bushing, and there's no way of knowing either in advance of the strip-down. So I know that this is no longer a continuous job, and that I'm going to have to find a safe place to leave the unit in pieces whilst waiting for the right Shapeways...
Meanwhile I'll continue looking through as much information as possible online to find details on the Tonearm breakdown to reach the Nylon part, and photo-document every stage so that my poor memory doesn't let me down when I have to start the re-build!
I'll let y'all know how it goes and hopefully will end up with a comprehensive repair photo-guide. :)

Kentsmith77
junior member
junior member
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Aug 2013 05:02

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by Kentsmith77 » 16 Aug 2015 13:44

Did you have any luck finding a guide for further disassembly? I was thinking of slowly trying it myself and photo documenting the process but I really don't want to get stuck with a turntable I can't figure out how to put back together properly.

swiss_steve
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Jun 2015 17:35

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by swiss_steve » 16 Aug 2015 14:17

Hi,
No, sadly I couldn't find any complete guide, so I am resigned to having to try it myself, with the aid of the Service Manual schematic.
I haven't started yet, I've been busy on other projects, but will probably make a start in September. I need to set enough time aside to do the job in two steps (as advised by Roberto), and wait for the right Shapeways parts to arrive in the interim. I've also been trying to gather as much background knowledge in the meantime and thanks to an earlier post on this subject by the developer of the Shapeways part, already know the there is a small pin and spring for the VTA to watch out for.
I still intend to photo-document the repair myself, so let's compare notes and try to avoid any grief in the process!

sylvain999
senior member
senior member
Posts: 367
Joined: 10 Mar 2012 22:51
Location: Blainville Quebec

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by sylvain999 » 13 Sep 2015 17:22

This thread was really helpful for me this week. Just bought 2 nice 1500 mk2 for 400$ but they both had the cueing problem. They both were manufactured in 1978 judging by the serial number, and they had the white lever with the bump in the middle ring. I decided to use super glue to get a fast grip of the nylon on the ring and work some more on the part, by adding a few layers of epoxy glue to thicken the part where it needs most.

I let it set for 24 hours, re-assembled, tested 200 cycles and a few ones with the arm clipped on the arm rest ( that is probably what makes it break or weakens it)and it passed the test.

I came across a problem i did not expect, the metal spring that activates the whole thing got loose and fell off, i found a tiny ring at the bottom of the TT, that seems to hold the spring just with pressure and it came off.I glued it inside the spring and it helped but still was too loose for my taste. I added dabs of super glue to the top of the shaft while keeping the spring free, making a ridge of glue just a bit larger than the shaft .

The cueing was fixed but the arm dropped pretty fast, i am lucky anough to have some FLOIL , the original oil we put in the target light back in the days, i putted a dab in the shaft of the cylinder and got it almost smooth, but at least slower.

paki976
senior member
senior member
Italy
Posts: 400
Joined: 18 Mar 2008 18:20
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by paki976 » 18 Feb 2016 10:47

Just ordered my new steel bushing cam from Shapeways.....
20160218_112336.jpg
(356.14 KiB) Downloaded 2056 times
20160218_112258.jpg
(190.64 KiB) Downloaded 2021 times
....and waiting for the part to be manufactured.

Ciao,
Fabrizio

paki976
senior member
senior member
Italy
Posts: 400
Joined: 18 Mar 2008 18:20
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by paki976 » 24 Feb 2016 19:29

Item received (very tight fit!) and installed. Had to battle a little with that optical sensor and with a non working stop button, now the TT is playing first albums!
20160224_140015.jpg
(317.52 KiB) Downloaded 2002 times
Thanks for the amazing tutorial!

Fabrizio

Roberto C2H3
long player
long player
Argentina
Posts: 1601
Joined: 12 Jun 2014 12:54
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by Roberto C2H3 » 24 Feb 2016 21:12

Way to go Fabrizio =D> =D> =D>

No small accomplishment. Lots of parts to come off and re assemble. Not to mention some really pesky screws that just refuse to come off the first 10 or so times one attempts to remove them. You should feel great about this 8)

Enjoy the fruits of your labor :D

Best from the Pampas,
roberto

levman_0549
member
member
Posts: 137
Joined: 25 Feb 2016 22:46

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by levman_0549 » 28 Feb 2016 20:25

Japi Roelofs wrote:Bravo! =D> =D> =D>
This is good news for owners of those models... Gotta lova 3D printing.
Will this part available for purchase fix a 1310 MKII Technics table with defective cueing? Thanks, Steve

paki976
senior member
senior member
Italy
Posts: 400
Joined: 18 Mar 2008 18:20
Location: Rome, Italy

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by paki976 » 29 Feb 2016 08:53

Yes, the 10 in the 1310 model number means black version, so your turntable is a 1300 in black.

Fabrizio

electrafixion
junior member
junior member
Posts: 16
Joined: 26 Apr 2003 15:02
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Fixed cueing arm lift for Technics SL 1300-1400-1500 mk2

Post by electrafixion » 17 May 2016 20:49

I recently received an SL-1400mk2 with the cue lift problem. I ordered the Shapeways replacement part (my original was the white version), spent about an hour installing it, and the table is working perfectly again!

Post Reply