the home of the turntable

110V-240V SL-1200M3D

turning japanese

110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby shambaboi@gmail.com » 15 Mar 2012 13:47

Hi. I have imported a pair of Technics SL-1200M3D's that I used when I lived in Canada. The power rating on them is 110V, is there any way we can switch to 240V max so that I can use them here. Is there a replacement power part available to change the power rating? I'm avoiding 240-110V step down transformers as they burn out real fast.
shambaboi@gmail.com
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 13:43

Kenya

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby JaS » 15 Mar 2012 14:27

A 230/240V to 110/115V step down transformer would be easiest. There's not much to go wrong with them as they are just a bunch of wires wound around a core. Alternatively you'll need the dual voltage version of the internal transformer to replace the 110/115v one in the deck, and a soldering iron to fit it.

If you do a search for SLT66DTE13E there are plenty of suppliers as it's also used in the mk2.

Regards,
JaS
User avatar
JaS
engine room
engine room
 
Posts: 9980
Images: 190
Joined: 12 Feb 2002 17:32
Location: Dark Peak

Great Britain

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby cafe latte » 16 Mar 2012 00:29

shambaboi@gmail.com wrote:Hi. I have imported a pair of Technics SL-1200M3D's that I used when I lived in Canada. The power rating on them is 110V, is there any way we can switch to 240V max so that I can use them here. Is there a replacement power part available to change the power rating? I'm avoiding 240-110V step down transformers as they burn out real fast.

If you buy a larger step down transformer than needed there is no reason they should ever burn out if you get a good quality one, I have one that is over 10 years old and it is still going strong and I cant imagine it wont last another 10. A stepdown transformer is just the same as any other transformer with exactly the same chance of burning out as any other transformer.
Regards
CL
cafe latte
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
contributor
 
Posts: 6791
Images: 244
Joined: 11 Oct 2009 04:27
Location: Cattle property near Ravenshoe Qld Australia

Australia

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby shambaboi@gmail.com » 21 Mar 2012 14:02

JaS wrote: Alternatively you'll need the dual voltage version of the internal transformer to replace the 110/115v one in the deck, and a soldering iron to fit it.

If you do a search for SLT66DTE13E there are plenty of suppliers as it's also used in the mk2.


Hi. I've had friends suggesting that I also need to change the Power Supply PCB and also another suggesting changing the regulator, in addition to the 220V transformer SLT66DTE13E. What do you think? Thanks for your help.

Bill
shambaboi@gmail.com
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 13:43

Kenya

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby JaS » 21 Mar 2012 17:19

shambaboi@gmail.com wrote:I've had friends suggesting that I also need to change the Power Supply PCB and also another suggesting changing the regulator, in addition to the 220V transformer SLT66DTE13E. What do you think?

That depends whether you are trying to fully convert to the dual voltage version, or just get it working on 240V? The dual voltage version has a different PCB, voltage switch and transformer. I'm not sure why you would want to replace the regulator though? Once the transformer is changed the rectifier will be fed with 30VAC exactly the same way as with the original transformer. From the rectifier onwards the decks should be identical.

Regards,
JaS
User avatar
JaS
engine room
engine room
 
Posts: 9980
Images: 190
Joined: 12 Feb 2002 17:32
Location: Dark Peak

Great Britain

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby cafe latte » 21 Mar 2012 22:59

I agree with Jas. Really though doing a full conversion to a 240 volt player you are gaining nothing. Why not just buy a good quality 110-240v transformer?
Regards
CL
cafe latte
vinyl addict
vinyl addict
contributor
 
Posts: 6791
Images: 244
Joined: 11 Oct 2009 04:27
Location: Cattle property near Ravenshoe Qld Australia

Australia

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby shambaboi@gmail.com » 22 Mar 2012 07:14

JaS wrote:That depends whether you are trying to fully convert to the dual voltage version, or just get it working on 240V? The dual voltage version has a different PCB, voltage switch and transformer. I'm not sure why you would want to replace the regulator though? Once the transformer is changed the rectifier will be fed with 30VAC exactly the same way as with the original transformer. From the rectifier onwards the decks should be identical.

Hi JaS: I want them to work only on 240V. Not interested in them being dual 110V/240V. So the only part I need in that case is SLT66DTE13E (which is the dual voltage transformer)?? How does it switch between the two voltages? I don't know much about electronics and wiring and thus I really can't tell you why the rectifier or power supply/switch PCB needs to be changed. These were just suggestions from friends. I need a confirmation from an expert, like yourself, to what I need to change and for reference maybe even why I would need to change that particular part-the transformer is pretty much obvious. The only concern I have at the moment is with the 240V transformer, would all the other parts be compatible (by current, voltage, amperage, etc, etc), which were otherwise running off a 110V transformer, with this 240V transformer I need to change. :?

110V-240V step down/up transformers/converters are hard to come by in my neck of the woods. I've seen some really nice 500W-1000W ones on amazon.co.uk but they are so bulky, almost 5kg. I would be paying a fortune to have one shipped here, if at all they ship to Kenya.

Thanks a lot for your input. I appreciate it.

Bill.
shambaboi@gmail.com
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 13:43

Kenya

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby shambaboi@gmail.com » 22 Mar 2012 07:39

cafe latte wrote:I agree with Jas. Really though doing a full conversion to a 240 volt player you are gaining nothing. Why not just buy a good quality 110-240v transformer?
Regards
CL

Hey CL:

I don't intend on ever shipping these back to North America and therefore I only want them to work on 240V. Step up/down transformers are hard to find in Kenya. I'v seen some high quality, high wattage ones on amazon.co.uk, which would really make my life easy, but they are expensive and bulky to ship here. So that's why its easier for me to just buy the conversion parts and have them shipped here. Wiring/ soldering them will not be a problem.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Bill.
shambaboi@gmail.com
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 13:43

Kenya

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby JaS » 22 Mar 2012 08:56

shambaboi@gmail.com wrote:I don't know much about electronics and wiring and thus I really can't tell you why the rectifier or power supply/switch PCB needs to be changed.

You need a transformer but you also need a competent technician to change them over. It's relatively simple but it isn't a 'plug and play' conversion.

The only concern I have at the moment is with the 240V transformer, would all the other parts be compatible (by current, voltage, amperage, etc, etc), which were otherwise running off a 110V transformer, with this 240V transformer I need to change. :?

No offence meant, but If you have to ask this question I honestly think it would be safer at this point to get a technician to look at the deck for you 8-[

Regards,
JaS
User avatar
JaS
engine room
engine room
 
Posts: 9980
Images: 190
Joined: 12 Feb 2002 17:32
Location: Dark Peak

Great Britain

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby shambaboi@gmail.com » 22 Mar 2012 09:19

JaS:

Yea, I will definitely need a technician to solder and wire the transformer, which isn't a problem. The only problem is, there aren't any professional technicians here that know much about Technics TT's. So really, having a local technician look at my decks in my opinion won't help. But I can give it a try. And mate if you just tell me all I need to change is the transformer, then I am up for it. It gets confusing for me once we start getting technical. I will take your word for it and just buy a pair of transformers. Thanks a million for the advise and help. All the best.

Bill.
shambaboi@gmail.com
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 13:43

Kenya

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby JaS » 22 Mar 2012 11:52

shambaboi@gmail.com wrote:I will take your word for it and just buy a pair of transformers.

Just a quick note, it's one transformer, not a pair. If the tech needs any info point him to one of the 1200/1210 service manuals, they all have similar power supplies and the transformer section is clearly shown. Basically the transformer converts the mains to 30VAC and this then feeds the rectifer/regulator etc. Your transformer is 110V-30VAC, so you need to replace it with a 240V-30VAC and you are done :)

Regards,
JaS
User avatar
JaS
engine room
engine room
 
Posts: 9980
Images: 190
Joined: 12 Feb 2002 17:32
Location: Dark Peak

Great Britain

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby shambaboi@gmail.com » 22 Mar 2012 14:21

I have 2 x 1200's, that's why I said pair for the transformers. Sorry for the confusion.

Billy.
shambaboi@gmail.com
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 13:43

Kenya

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby JaS » 22 Mar 2012 16:26

shambaboi@gmail.com wrote:I have 2 x 1200's, that's why I said pair for the transformers.

My mistake, you said a pair in your very first post #-o

Regards,
JaS
User avatar
JaS
engine room
engine room
 
Posts: 9980
Images: 190
Joined: 12 Feb 2002 17:32
Location: Dark Peak

Great Britain

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby shambaboi@gmail.com » 18 Apr 2012 10:01

Hi Guys. I just received my new 110-240v transformers and noticed a difference with the exisiting 110V transformer. Btw, I got the last two pieces as these things are no longer being manufactured. Took me weeks to source them and found the last two pieces in Europe, i think.

For starters its obviously bigger in size and there is no way it will fit into the existing transformer housing.

Next, the 240V transformer has 6 wires (blue, white, black, brown, red, yellow) coming out of it whereas the 110V only has 4 (two yellows, blue, red). Please see the images.

Does the fuse rating on the Power supply PCB make a difference? I also noticed it is rated 125V 1.2A.

Please advise. I really don't know what to do now.

2139721396
shambaboi@gmail.com
junior member
junior member
 
Posts: 9
Images: 2
Joined: 15 Mar 2012 13:43

Kenya

Re: 110V-240V SL-1200M3D

Postby JaS » 18 Apr 2012 11:48

If you've looked at the 240V schematics for dual voltage 1210 models (which you will need to before fitting) you will understand why a 110/240V transformer has more wires. The schematics for the 110V and 240V versions also show the mains fuse and power fuses which will give you the information you need to correctly wire it up.

As for fitting the transformer, I don't know if it will fit your chassis, but as you've only bought a bare transformer you will need the bracket/grommets etc from your old transformer (if they are the same?) or specifically for the new transformer. The parts are shown in the service manuals.

Regards,
JaS
User avatar
JaS
engine room
engine room
 
Posts: 9980
Images: 190
Joined: 12 Feb 2002 17:32
Location: Dark Peak

Great Britain

Next

Return to Technics