Pioneer SX-737

amplifiers, receivers and loudspeakers
Njk570
United States of America

Pioneer SX-737

Post by Njk570 » 09 Nov 2019 21:23

Hey all. Newbie here. As i said on my first post a couple days ago I traded a gaming PC for a Rega Planar 2, ELAC B6 Speakers and a Onkyo TX2020 Receiver. The Onkyo sounded ok with the set up but i couldn't stand the aesthetics of it. So i came across a Pioneer SX-737 on eBay for $140. The guy said he acquired it from an estate sale and aside from cleaning the outside of it, he never used it. I just received it today, and hooked everything up and all i have to say is WOW. Night and Day difference from the Onkyo. It sounds absolutely incredible. BUT.....The insides of the thing are extremely dirty and cruddy. Also it has this OLD electrical smell when its been running for a bit. Im assuming thats just how they smell?

My question to you is do I try to clean the thing myself with some sort of spray or do i take it to a professional?
Will cleaning it further increase the quality of the sound?
And should i be concerned with the old electrical smell and it getting warm after playing a bit?

Thank you all for your feedback :D

musicmn
long player
long player
United States of America

Re: Pioneer SX-737

Post by musicmn » 09 Nov 2019 23:11