the home of the turntable

Wanting To Play Old 78S

3 minute wonder

Wanting to play old 78s

Postby ewest77 » 13 May 2009 14:36

Hi. I'm a vinyl newbie and I'm primarily interested in old jazz records. I'm starting to collect old 78s from Vocalion.

I've read that the Goldring Lenco turntables are great for the old 78s as they have variable speed capabilities and can compensate for speed variations of the records.

I'm interested in building a system that is not only good for playing 78s, but is also ideal for early jazz!

I thank you in advance for any advice on ideal equipment, set up, and configuration!
ewest77

Postby Brian C. » 13 May 2009 15:40

I think the 'table that best fits the bill is a Lenco L70/Bogen B62/Goldring-Lenco GL70 equipped with a General Electric VRII turn-around cartridge for old microgroove LPs and 78s. If you want to also play stereo-era LPs then use a Stanton 500 or Ortofon OM cartridge with a selection of readily available suitable styli.

Brian.
Brian C.
contributor

Thanks

Postby ewest77 » 14 May 2009 12:44

Brian C. Thank you for the reply! Now for the hunt!!
ewest77

Postby Brian C. » 14 May 2009 15:16

Good luck :wink:

It will be well worth the effort 8)

Brian.

PS If you are thinking of an all-mono system, choose (or modify) a mono preamp with a 100k phono load resistor and use a stereo cartridge with coils connected in series to give mono output. I think you will be delighted :)

Brian.
Brian C.
contributor

Postby Mark Z. » 14 May 2009 17:36

Another TT you might research is the Broadcast Std. from KAB, which is a modified Technics SL1200. It doesn't cover all the speeds at which "78s" were recorded, but, w/ a range of about 72-84 rpm, it covers the vast majority. I added a number of available mods to mine so that it produces wonderful sound (IMO, of course) regardless of whether I'm listening to 78s, 45s, or LPs.
Mark Z.

Postby Whitneyville » 15 May 2009 08:33