Half-Speed Ripping

the mix tape forum
Electrofuzzer

Half-Speed Ripping

Post by Electrofuzzer » 03 Mar 2016 02:03

Hi, I have a couple of questions.

I am a sound engineer and work for a record label that we make reissues.

Often we do not have copy masters, usually not there. And we have to use the original record to send at GZ Media.

The last release I ripped at 16 2/3 RPM (half-speed). Declicker work better at half speed rips?
NOTE: I rip in 24/96, then, I convert to 192Khz.
It is better to rip 16 or 33?

Use material:
TURNTABLE: Lenco B52 (16/33/45/78)
Cartridge: Ortofon 2m RED
TUBE VALVE AMP: Vieta A217
ADC CONVERTER: Behringer Ultramatch Pro SRC2496 (Audiophile 24-Bit/96 kHz A/D-D/A & Sample Rate Converter)
SPEAKERS: Chario
SOUND INTERFACE (I Use only for the Optical Input)
Sound Blaster X-Fi USB

Software
iZotope RX Adv 4 (with declicker/denoiser/.....)

2nd question: Cartridges recommendeds to rip records

Thanks.

Lowlander2

Re: Half-Speed Ripping

Post by Lowlander2 » 03 Mar 2016 13:52

I can't comment on every stage of your process, but if you record at half speed you must do so without RIAA equalisation. RIAA equalisation, e.g. from a phono input, affects the wrong frequencies if every tone is an octave lower than expected. Therefore the RIAA curve must be applied to the normal speed signal at a later stage.

Half speed ripping will give you a slightly cleaner treble signal, because the stylus has more time to follow the groove. I don't think it will make much of a difference in RX4's declicker module.

I use an Audiotechnica AT20SLA for ripping because it does not give me any audible sibilance effect whatsoever. Once recorded, sibilance is almost impossible to get rid of.

And, "Behringer" and "audiophile" are two different things.

mmarston

Post by mmarston » 03 Mar 2016 20:04