Sp-10Mk2 - Help required

turning japanese
tcp

Sp-10Mk2 - Help required

Post by tcp » 15 Aug 2012 12:59

Hi, I'm a newbie here and would very much to seek Help from the experts here.

I ran into some problem after I replaced all the electrolytic caps in my SP-10. All cap values are replaced with same value. I started the TT and initially it ran ok apart for 33 1/2 rpm where some noise can be heard (wasn't spinning as smoothly as 45rpm and 78rpm). I immediate turned it off and noticed a burning smell. Unfortunately I couldnt trace the source of the burning smell. Upon further checking, seems I might have shorted IC 15 with some residual solder. Had that IC replaced but now the TT just spins at a constant (fast) speed, switching speed has no effect at all. The strobe does not work as well.

I've done all the maintenance/troubleshooting checks as per the service manual and have narrowed down to the faults possibly in the Control Circuit. I've check P1 (which is also pin 14 of IC 2) and there's no signal/sine wave. Is this an indication that the Quartz is damaged?

I hope some experts out there can Help.

Thanks in advance

tcp

Re: Sp-10Mk2 - Help required

Post by tcp » 16 Aug 2012 00:47

Anyone with some knowledge and perhaps experience?

SupaWales
Wales

Post by SupaWales » 17 Aug 2012 17:05

OK tcp.

I don't know why no-one has responded.

I don't own a SP10 MkII, but do have 40 years experience designing & repairing electronic equipment.

I suggest the following, based on looking at the diagram in the service manual which is available here on VE.. see
https://www.vinylengine.com/library/technics/sp10.shtml
Scroll down for the list of manual download links.

Connect your 'scope to pin 1 of IC2.

Do you see a sine wave?

If not, measure the 5v supply rail that feeds IC2 TR218 / 9 etc.

If there's no 5v supply, check fuse F1 on the power supply board and change if blown
The fuse is 1A fast blow.